Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

For the last two centuries, human civilization has constantly degraded it’s natural surroundings, in form of cutting down forests or displacing wild animals from their natural habitat. This has led to a dramatic decline in the size of wildlife globally over the past centuries. Most of the environmentalists would agree with the stated argument. However, in my opinion, this strategy is not suitable for developing nations and even for developed nations, they should try a conservation approach rather than a preservation one.

First, let’s discuss the case for developing nations, the main problem faced by these countries are poverty and hunger. Consider a country like UAE which faces a shortage of space to provide people with a shelter, the decision by the government to conserve area might not go well with its citizens. That same land could have been used to create housing opportunities which in turn will generate jobs for the people. Governments in these nations will refrain from implementing policies which will only exacerbate unemployment. These preservation programs can only be implemented at the cost of valuable job opportunities for the locals.

Now, let’s consider the case of developed nations, here the problems of hunger and house shortage are not severe as compared to their counterparts. If the nation implements preservation programs there can be no human activities in that area, but by devising a conservation program low pollution activities such as tourism can be operated in that area, which will allow for sustainable development. Efforts can be made to minimize the impact on the environment without compromising the needs of future generations. Such program of development along with conservation will also be acceptable to the public as well as environmentalists.

To conclude, I would like to say that developing nations should focus on problems like poverty and hunger whereas the developed nations should try to create programs which can ensure a sustainable development without sacrificing any opportunities for the future generations.