A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market—northeastern United States cities—say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process.

In this argument, the author asserts on focusing more on style and colors of socks rather than the endure manufacturing process, which is currently the main focus of Dura-Sock. There are several assumptions behind this argument, which if proven false will render the author’s point baseless and full of flaws.

First, let’s discuss the supposition behind the conclusion of survey conducted in North America. What if the customers took the endurance of the socks as a basic feature and thought that it was not required to mention this during the survey. Secondly, it is supposed that all the customers in North America are first-hand customers but what if they export these to various international markets where Dura-Socks are known for their durability rather than color or style. This will make the above survey false as it doesn’t take the review of the end customer into account, and hence making decision solely on this survey is not sensible.

Second, regarding the claim about customers purchasing new socks every three months, it is based on the assumption that most of the customers are pedestrians and using the socks minimally but what is that’s not the case. Instead, a large number of customers of the company are sportsperson and construction workers, who get their socks torn off quite frequently. And that’s why they prefer buying Dura-Sock socks because they last long in extreme conditions when compared to the other available options.

Third, an average customer looks first at the material of the socks then at the style and color. We can also attribute the success of the company to the fact that people believe in their advertising campaign of endure process and the name of that process alone woos the customer into buying the socks. Abstaining from using the process and focusing more on design could have a negative effect on the company sales as people will feel that they have given up the endure process and are now focusing more on money making options.

Finally, to conclude off I would like to say that the reasoning provided by the author contains many flaws and lacks concrete evidence which can be appropriated to the points being made. The argument can be made more cogent by providing proper statistics.