The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc. "A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new DuraSocks every three months.

Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors.

These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo mentioned, the vice president of the company makes a conclusion that the company has to reduce the money it spends on the endure manufacturing process to increase its profits, building this conclusion on the basis of that their average customer purchases a new sucks every three months and that the customers actually like their sucks for its stylish appearance and availability in different colors. Drawing such a conclusion, the author relied on evidences that are questionable in terms of their reliability.

First, the author used the fact that the average customer purchases new sucks every two months as evidence that the endure manufacturing process that helps making the socks more durable is not important and is not worth spending money on. however, he also mentioned that the customer like the appearance of the socks the most, considering that, it would be reasonable for someone who the style of the socks was the most important factor that made him purchase the socks to tend to try new styles offered in the market and to be liking to have a variety of colors and styles, given that he is more concerned with the appearance than other kinds of customers. so, it is more likely that this cutomer purchhasing new socks every three months is not caused by the bad durability of the socks, and more research regarding the reasons that prompt the customers to do so is needed to resolve to such a conclusion.

Furthermore, the vice president mentioned that given that the appearance of the socks are the most deciding factor that tempts an average customer to buy Dura-socks, it is of great importance for the socks to be durable, and it can be beneficial for the company to discount its spendings on the endure manufacturing process. however, it is not by necessity true that the customer is not concerned with the durability of the socks. customers always compare diffent items of different companies in terms of many factors, including price, durability, and appearance. And if a customer decides to purchase an item because of its appearance, it is more likely that the items of the competent company was close and very comparable to that item in the other terms, so, ignoring the durability of the socks in the manufacturing process will affect the quality of the socks and therefore, competent items will be better than Dura-socks and this will tempt the customer to reassess the items.

Finally, a reasonable person would think that the evidences the author used to reach to such a conclusion are cogent, however, a deeper look at the plausibility of the evidences will give us an intuition about the weaknesses the conclusion was resolved to depending on.