Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty.

Here the editor is comparing two real estate firms and giving his verdict on which one of them is better. It is apparently clear from the reasoning given by the author that he has taken certain assumptions to reach this conclusion. We can find a different explanation for these, which will render the aforementioned assumptions unwarranted.

First, the author assumed that more the workers better the firm. What if the workers of Adam’s firm were not diligent enough when pitched against the 25 workers of Fitch’s firm. The assumption will fail if the less number of employees of Fitch were contributing much more to the firm. Second, although, a higher revenue sales is a measure of success, average home sales is not. Author assumed that houses sold by Adam’s firm belonged to a same range that is, standard deviation from the average value was not much. What will make this assumption fail is when Adam’s firm sold houses which were exorbitantly priced combined with moderately priced which will make their average higher while on the other hand Flitch’ firm sold houses which were in the vicinity of the average value given above.

Third, editor talks about his experience with both the firms but does not mention any details about the house, be it location, size or price. Without providing this information one cannot successfully make connection with the point being made. It’s plausible that when author was selling his house with Fitch’s firm the market was experiencing a low or maybe the location was a rustic one which attracted very little interest of buyers or the price may have been priced capriciously ignoring the appropriate one. Efficiency of the two firms would have been comparable if these conditions would have been similar to the present one when he used the services of Adam.

Finally, to conclude off I would like to point out that author’s argument can also be justified by the assumptions made above. To provide a better context on this author could provide statistics of both the firms to give readers a better look at the situation of both firms. However, as proper statistics are lacking in the reasoning presented here, the conclusion made above is fallacious.