The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc.

"A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market — northeastern United States cities — say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Dura-Socks's customers suggest that company spending a lot amount of money in their patented enduring process that ensure the durability of socks. However, it is worthless as per customer. Because they change their socks and buy at every three months. Also, survey done in northeastern in USA reveals that socks are stylish and elegant and available in plethora of colours so there is no use of that enduring process. Hence, they will likely to discontinue use of an enduring process in order to take more benefits. Stated in this way argument fails to mention sevaral points based on which, it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on an assumption for which, there in no any strong evidence. AS a result the author's argument unsubstantiated and unsupported.

First and foremost, the argument readily assumes that money spending on enduring process is worthless; because, many customers change their socks in every three months. This is merely an argument without a strong background. It might be possible most customers are biased towards changing the new socks because they like the design pattern on socks. so, durability might be not a problem. Also, how many customers change their socks in every three month? there is no any statistical information regarding customer survey who changes their socks in sort time span. Hence, the argument relies on shallow information that are not compelling as required.

Secondly, the argument claims that survey done in northeastern reveals that customer consider appearance of the socks rather than durability. Therefore, company should turn of the enduring process for profits. This is again very weak and unsupportive claim. It may be possible many customers consider the colour of the socks in that particualr area. Bur, in other county customers are more conscious towards quality. Therefore, survey of one area not able to tell the whole story about penchant of customers.

Lastly, the argument claims that we always do the advertisement of enduring process. still, people change their socks in three months. Here, argument fails to mention several points how many customers watched their advertise? Also, showing the enduring process does not provide a guarantee that customer consider that particular product.

To conclude, the author's argument is unpersuasive it stands. To bolster it, author must provide more concrete evidence. It could be considerably strengthened if author mentions all relevant facts. But without clearity of the information the conclusion is unplausible. As a result author's conclusion has a no legs to stand.