Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which

In our everyday life, we often come across the word "Dream" and we often hear people saying "I am chasing my dream". A dream is something that can set an insipid mind to unrest, a sensation that can energize a personality and inculcate a zeal to achieve something worthwhile. Dreams are meant to be followed and not just dreamt off. They help us climb those ladders in life which once occur as a hefty task. They instill the determination and courage to achieve the impossible. When young people are advised to follow their dreams, it is absolutely justified. Since the realization of dreams- big or small helps in the overall upliftment of a person's confidence and instills a sense of achievement.

It is not obscure to say that dreams are the sole reasons for such an evolved world. For instance, people like Martin Luther King and Mother Teresa dreamt of a peaceful world and made significant efforts that are totally cogent in their dream. Pranav Mistry dreamt of a technically advanced World and hence sixth sense technology came into the picture. The latest advancements in Science and Technology are one way or the other, a result of those prodigious dreams these technocrats ever dreamt off. Hence, dreams are definitely the best pursuit to bring change, not only in personal lives but also in the lives of the people around us. And who knows you little dream may one day be recognized by the entire World and is no longer confined to your little sub-conscious brain.

When we talk about goals, they are simply actions that lead to substantial success not only for an individual but an entire society or race. They have nothing to do with one's dreams and solely result-oriented. Goals are meant to be achieved with a very focused mind, keeping aside your dreams. One is liable for his/her goals but not his dreams. Achievement of Goals may give you success and fame but fulfilling your dreams gives you satisfaction.

Blatantly, the claim here is rational to an extent but dreams definitely have an upper hand as compared to goals. Dreams are the driving force behind satisfied success. Goals may exhaust but dreams never do. They originate in a person's mind, flourish there and enhances it to take steps for their fulfillment. No other forces can govern dreams.

The reason given for the claim here demonstrates that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. This is true to an extent but not wholly. People's dreams are restricted to their thought process, upbringing and their perception about life. They are not completely selfish. There is a strong possibility of their intersection with other people's dreams and ambitions and moreover, we can't simply conclude that a person's dreams are not going to benefit the entire human race. If that's for the goodwill of one, it's definitely for the goodwill of many others, if not all. Hence, dreams are meant to be chased and realized and there is no force on this Earth that should govern or put severe restrictions to achieve what one dreams of.