A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Students are one of the most vital groups that help in nation building, they are the future. Their considerable knowledge and learning are essential to help a developing nation attain new heights. They are young, smart and dynamic. If their foundation is strong, building up their career in the right direction will seem less challenging and more fun. And schools play the most important role in a student's life when we talk about strengthening the foundation. It is essential that the schools impart the germane knowledge right from the beginning of education in a student's life. They need to understand each individual's requirements and work towards bolstering them. Schools are the first temples of learning where a student is nurtured and exhorted in the most appropriate field of study.

Now let's talk about the given situation wherein the same curriculum is implemented nationally for all the students. Well, not denying the fact, such a nationally established curriculum is going to decrease the workload among students as well as teachers, but we can't overshadow the variety of loopholes it will bring along.

First, the same national curriculum means that the courses taught in a particular nation will be same throughout, despite knowing the fact that a nation itself is divided into various regions and all regions have their own cultural and traditional differences. What if a student wants to learn and excel in the field of study pertaining to one's own region? He has no option to opt for relevant subjects in that case.

Second, the same curriculum throughout the nation will ease down the burden and follow a very relaxed approach. No wonder this will help the students to excel in other fields like sports, arts, etc. But on the other hand, it will lead to lack of competition. Students will be not be motivated enough to give more than desired. Reason being, the subjects being taught may/may not align to their interest. Thus, a feeling of apathy is likely to engender in all of the students ubiquitously.

Third, in the above two paragraphs, I have talked about students as a group. But we need to give special attention to students who want to excel in the fields of singing, dance, and dramatics. It is believed that training in these fields should start from a very small age itself and fortunately, this has been proven scientifically as well. Blatantly, a uniform national curriculum can never be drafted in favor of this minority student group. Their passion is likely to suffer if such a system is imposed.

Hence, I cogently support the idea of a curriculum that comprises of electives and students have the right to choose as per their areas of interest. This is going to be fruitful in the long run, helping them choose their right career path and further taking steps to excel in the same.