A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for several reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on an unwarranted assumption that only chemicals used in the food are responsible for several signs of illness in the pets, rendering its main conclusion, that the company should not devote further resources to the investigation invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification about the amount of chemicals used in the pet food. For one, there is a possibility that the consumption of these chemical are not harmful for pets up to certain amount. But, when the amount is exceeded, the pets may experience vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. The argument would have been stronger had it provided information regarding the amount of chemicals used in making pet food. Even then, the argument had to prove that the amount of chemicals used in making pet food is suitable for all animals to consume and not just certain breeds of animals.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. It does not state anything about the serving size of the food. Each animal should be given different serving size to keep them healthy. There is a possibility that the serving size mentioned in the pet food package is greater than what pets should ideally consume. And, as breeds of animals are different, their body requirement for food is also different. Thus, The serving size for all the animals given in the package should be different. for example, For a Husky dog, the serving size should be different when compared to the serving size for a pit bull dog.

Finally, The argument claims without warrant that they should not devote further resources to the investigation. If all the possible reasons for the symptoms mentioned above are not true, then too, 4 million pound of pet food is a very large quantity and hence, the probability of the food inducing these illness symptoms is very high. The pet food company should not just investigate about the chemicals used, they should dig deeper into the investigation and help the pets and in turn keep their customers happy. for example, they could also investigate about the authenticity of the food being sold in the market. There is a possibility that there is an illegal derivative of their product in the market which is being bought by the pet owners.

Because the argument does not account for all the possible reasons for illness symptoms in pets, it fails to make a convincing case that the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.