The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The following argument is flawed for several reasons. Primarily, the argument states that according to a survey, Oceania University's faculty retention is higher because of their free-tuition policy for professors when we do not know how many people took the survey. There is a possibility that not many faculties took part in the survey. There may be other factors too which can lead to the retention of Faculties in Oceania University.

The argument fails to provide the justification that the free tuition policy at the university is the factor for higher faculty retention. For one, the faculties at Oceania University might have less qualification and are less likely to find job outside the university as compared to the faculties at Seatown University. The argument would have been stronger had it provided the similarity in the reputation of the two universities and the qualification of faculties in the universities. Even then, the argument would have to further prove that the other factors line university meal plans, Faculty housing system etc are similar for both the universities.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. It does not state anything about the income level of the faculties in the two universities. It is possible that the yearly income of the faculties in Oceania University is lower that of faculties in Seatown University. And, free-tuition policy is just an added benefit to compensate for their lower salary. Even if we assume that the salaries in both the universities are same, their might be other benefits like free housing, given to faculties in Seatown University which might not be available for Faculties in Oceania University.

Finally, The argument assumes without warrant that the number of faculties in both the universities are same. There is a possibility that there are 100 faculties in Seatown university out of which 20 left this year. Whereas, there are only 20 faculties in Oceania University out of which 10 left. While the number of faculties left in Seatown university are more, the percentage of faculty retention is much higher than Oceania University.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case for the reasons of Faculty retention at Oceania University.