The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic raises an issue of whether young people should be taught sense of competition to become a good leader in politics, industry, or any other field. Cooperation and competition are two most important qualities one should have to thrive in any field. Cooperation should be taught to young people to become a good leader but competition is also important.

First of all, to become a leader in any field, you have to be on top. In this generation, there are many magnates in a particular field who try to get to top. This is possible only if they have sense of competition which motivates them to become better than their competition. Sense of competition also does not leaves any room for complacency. For instance, there were many social networking websites like Myspace and Orkut. But, as soon as Facebook was introduced, the shares of these websites started declining. This was because of the sense of competition in the leadership of Facebook and as well as sense of cooperation in them to keep their employee happy.

Furthermore, sense of competition and cooperation goes hand by hand. To be the best in a particular field, one should have a quality of competition. But, to be a great leader one should also know how to keep their employee happy. This is where quality of cooperation plays a vital role. Let's take an example of political parties. To get elected, political parties promote themselves among people by promising them various perks after they get elected. This promises are done because of the sense of competition they have to win. Just imagine, can a political party thrive if it does not promote its values? The answer is no. So, yes, it is important to have a sense of competition while trying to be the best. Cooperation plays the role after a particular party wins. They should know how to deal and address the problems of common people and try to resolve them. This is possible if the leader is cooperative. So, it is pretty obvious from above points that to become a good leader, both, cooperation and competition are important.

Finally, sometimes competition can also have some negative effects. Some leaders in of the industry, try to use wrong activities to be on top of their field. For instance, there was an IPL cricket scam two years ago where, to win the tournament, "Chennai Super King" a team in IPL tried to bribe one of the other teams. They were eventually caught and banned for two years. So, my point is, yes, there are some cases where competition can lead to malpractice. But, that does not negate the fact that to be a good leader it is important to have both the qualities.

So from the above points, it is clear that sense of competition is as important as sense of cooperation to thrive as a leader in any field.