The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Though it seems if Swift is not replaced with another vendor , there might be health consequences for Kensington students. But some questions need to be answered in order to persuade one to consider the statement. As how is the parent so sure that other vendor might not sell same food?.How can they even be sure all the students will get food from home?.So in order to put up a cogent case these questions must be answered first.

The parent states that ,If Swift is not replaced with another vendor health consequences for Kensington students might prevail. But how can they be so sure. Consider if the management hires a new vendor and they produce non healthy as well as not tasty food then it will cause another problem. The solution to a problem is not to eradicate the source. The Swift agency can be intimated to produce a bit tastier food.So replacing Swift Nutrition might as well not be a feasible solution to the problem.

The parent also states that the problem will cause the students to bring in there own food. It might very well be the case for his child maybe she can cook food for her child and send everyday but it might not be feasible for all. Consider for example the food in the cafeteria is of a very low cost. And food from outside costs more. So everyone might not be able to afford it. It can be all students still end up eating the same food in the cafeteria. Maybe if the author had provided some answer to the question one might have considered his point of view.

How can the author be so sure that students might end up not eating the cafeteria food. It might the case that the taste is new to them and as time pass they eventually get adapted to that taste. As the food is healthy that might be advantageous as well. Consider a person does not like a thing for first time. We all might have heard of subway many subway fans have stated that the hated the sub when the ate it for the first time. But they eventually adapted the taste of it and now they really love it. So the author should provide a reasoning that students would like the food in further time to come as well.

So in order to let one consider the authors statement. He might answer the above mentioned questions. As how the author is so sure that the new vendor might be better than this one. Or All students will bring there own food?.If the author answers all these questions one can take his statement into consideration and remove the current vendor.