A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The following argument is flawed for several reasons, Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted fact that that Himalayan mountain region in Nepal is same as suburban areas in the united States, rendering its main conclusion that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

That argument fails to provide justification that the two cities are same in terms of their eating habits, For one, suburban areas in United States have more access to junk food than Himalayan mountain region in Nepal. It is pretty obvious that junk food is one of the main factor for tooth decay among children. The argument would have been strong had it provided information regarding the similarity in the eating habits of the two regions. Even then, the argument would have to further prove that people in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal spend as much on the junk food as the people living in suburban areas in the United States.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. The argument states that children in Nepal have lower levels on tooth decay than children in United States. But it does not provide facts and figures to prove its point. It is possible that the population of Himalayan region in Nepal is less than the suburban areas in the United States, but overall percentage of tooth decay among children in Nepal is more than the suburban areas of United States. Thus to make a stronger argument the argument should state facts and figures.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that the dental hygiene products used in both the regions is same. So, it is possible that children in Nepal use more natural products for their dental hygiene than the suburban areas of the United States. Even f if assume the two regions use same similar products for their dental hygiene, it is a high possibility that what children eating food in United States lead to more cavities than the food eaten by children in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.