Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic raises an issue of whether mass media and the internet have caused people's attention span to get shorter. It compensates by saying that it also has a positive effect, where people can go through large amount of information and find what is important. I agree with author's point, but this does not apply to every human being and every field of study. It is illustrated below.

First of all, some fields cannot prosper without having people with great attention to details skill. For instance, In the field of consulting, where people help their clients to grow their business, there is very less room of error. So, in this case consulting firms prefer people who have not been influenced by mass media and internet and has great attention span. In the field of research too, scientists and researchers should have great attention span to achieve success in their field of study. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that in these jobs, employees are more focused in what they do and hence are not influenced by mass media and internet.

Furthermore, mass media and internet has made some students very complacent. Our generation has done project in the last minute as they know can get large amount of information from the internet from which they can copy and score marks as compared to previous generation, who used to ready books to get knowledge and then apply the knowledge in their projects. In this case internet surely has a detrimental effect in the thinking process of a student. It is a very common saying in engineering colleges, that people study in last minute. This is due to the advancement of internet which has caused students to study their subjects via internet not in much details but enough to score decent marks in the exams. Hence all the evidence above indicate that mass media and internet surely has been a bane for the students.

Admittedly, advancement of mass media and internet has made life easy, where people can get large information in just few clicks which in turn saves a lot of time. People also learn so much via internet which they cannot learn in the classroom because of the common curriculum of the school for all the students. But this does not negate the effects of the mass media and internet which are more detrimental than advantageous.

In conclusion, mass media mass media and internet has surely helped in saving time to find the information and apply in our daily lives, but it also has made our generation complacent, which can surely have detrimental effect on students thinking skills.