A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic raises an issue of whether nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. There are some important achievements specific to certain regions which may not be taught to students if the curriculum is same for the whole country. But, There are more positives for keeping the same national curriculum for the students until they enter college.

First of all, same national curriculum leads to no discrimination among students in rural areas. It would be easy for students in rural areas to compete for best colleges which mostly are situated in major cities of the country. for instance, in India, students in many rural areas are not taught subjects in English language, which after the schooling leads to a major drawback for them as they have to compete with students with maybe same intellect but an advantage of English language. Same national curriculum requires same infrastructure standards all over the nation. So achieving same national curriculum will ensure that infrastructure of schools in rural areas is not less than schools in cities. This in turn will lead to decrease in illiteracy of the country which in turn will increase the economic growth of the country.

Furthermore, achieving same national curriculum will also decrease pressure from student's mind. It will lead to decrease in the number of entrance tests given by the students after their schooling to compete for different colleges. In India, We have different boards for every states and every state has different grading system. This is also very deleterious for a student's future. Let's taken a example for Pune board, where students are scrutinized more than the students in CBSE board when it comes to the marks given to them. This lead to decrease in marks students get, in Pune board. Which in turn decrease their chances of getting into good colleges as compared to students in CBSE board. So, leading to same national curriculum will lead to same board exams, which will give equal opportunity to every student to get into colleges based on their merit.

Finally, if same national curriculum is achieved, there is a possibility that some historical achievements specific to a certain state, which may not be important for other states, is not taught to the students of that state. But overall, as mentioned in above points, there are more advantages of achieving same national curriculum.

So, national curriculum should be same, as it would give equal opportunities to all the students in the country.