The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for several reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that their advertising contracts is canceled because they have decreased time for weather and local news, rendering its main conclusion that restoring the time devoted to weather an local news will increase its advertising revenue invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the advertisers are actually concerned with the type of news shown late-night. For one, advertisers may be actually canceling their contracts because they might not getting any benefits for airing the advertisements late-night. The argument would have been stronger had it provided information regarding the cause of cancelation of advertising contracts rather than just assuming it is because of decreasing the time devoted to weather and local news. Even if reducing the time devoted for weather and local news was the cause, the argument would have to further prove that the viewers interested in watching weather and local news have not been decreased.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions regarding the number of viewers who prefer weather and local news versus number of viewers who prefer national news. First, there might be a possibility that when time devoted to weather and local news was more, then the complaints regarding the coverage was more from the people who prefer watching national news. If they want to validate their statement, they should have provided facts and figures that the number of people who prefer weather and local news were more than the number of people who prefer national news. Even then, they would have to provide evidence that the complaints received were regarding not showing local and weather news or the content shown during the reduced time.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that decrease in viewers were due to the reduced time of local and weather news coverage. There is a possibility that the viewers were not happy with the content shown in local news and hence, chose not to watch the program. There is another possibility the late-night viewers have changed their schedule and started sleeping early which led to decrease in viewership.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that increasing time devoted to weather and local news program will attract more viewers and will increase advertising revenues.