The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is flawed for several reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that the quality of the movies which are produced by Super Screen Movie Production company are good, rendering its main conclusion that they should allocate a great share of its budget to reach public through advertising invalid

The argument fails to provide any justification that what exactly does good quality of movies mean. This is a subjective question which have many answers. There is a possibility that the maximum population of the country thinks action movies as a good quality movie. If the production company is focused in making a Science fiction movie and think that it would attract more people, then they are wrong. The argument would have been stronger had it provided information regarding the types of movies made by the company and the movies liked my the maximum population of the country. Even then, the argument would have to further prove that the actors hired for the movies or storyline of the movies are liked by the people or not.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. It states that fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies, but then too, the percentage of positive reviews actually increased during the past year. This was bound to happen. The diehard fans of the production company did not stop watching the movies produced by them and always would have given the positive reviews. But since other people stopped watching the movies the overall review would have gone down keeping the positive reviews constant. This will obviously increase the percentage of positive reviews. This argument would have be stronger had it provided the facts and figures of the number of reviews given to them. Even then they cannot prove exactly that the positive reviews will change other people's views of the movies produced by Super Screen.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that allocating a greater share of its budget towards advertising will attract more people. So, even if we assume that advertising will for some time make people to watch the movies produced by Super Screen Production Company, there is a high possibility that those people will not return again to watch the movie as these people may prefer other genre of movies which are not produced by the production company.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that allocating a greater share of it budget to advertising will make more people to like the movies produced by the production company.