Que :Over the past two years , the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarders has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store Owner believe that the decrease in their business is due to the

In the given letter to the editor, the owner of a store has strictly focused on the steady decrease in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza. Per him, skateboarding has seen a dramatic increase in its popularity. Also, the author states that all the Central Plaza store owners have deduced that the increase in the skateboard users in the plaza has resulted in the decrease in their businesses. Apart from this, vandalism and amount of litter have seen as a gradual increase. People have started neglecting cleanliness and are now more inclined towards damaging the property of the Central Plaza. The author hastily concludes that skateboarding in the plaza should be prohibited so as to revert the business in the Central Plaza to its previously high levels. However, the author fails to mention several key factors to bolster his/her argument. Hence, the argument can be considered unwarranted.

Firstly, the author claims that the decrease in the business of the Central Plaza stores is due to the increase in skateboard users in the Plaza. The author fails to highlight that the decrease in the business can be due to various other reasons, namely, deterioration in the quality of goods being sold at the Central Plaza, may be the location of the Plaza is not very approachable and people find it difficult to travel so far for shopping.

It is also possible that the collection in the stores in Central Plaza is outdated and not in pace with that of other shopping malls in the city. Another reason for a decline in the business can be the establishment of new shopping Plazas in the city that offers much more discounts and offers to the local people as a marketing strategy for survival in the competition.

Secondly, the author claims that cleanliness has declined and vandalism has increased. The declination in the cleanliness standards can be possibly due to negligence on behalf of cleaning staff. The cleaning staff should be summoned to ensure hygienic conditions in the central plaza.

Furthermore, the central plaza is a public property and being used unanimously by the entire city, it is mandatory to have a well-established maintenance body to look after the vandalism caused by the visitors. It is possible that acute vandalism was a routine affair and the maintenance staff is not doing its duty sincerely. They should be educated to work more regularly to amend the damage caused to the property. This, in turn, can be another reason why the number of shoppers has decreased in the Central Plaza.

In conclusion, the author’s claim is unpersuasive. There is no direct link between the decline in the number of shoppers and an increase in the number of skateboarders. Although the author has tried his best to put forward his argument in the most comprehensive manner, he still fails to address the above-mentioned questions that need to be addressed before we land up to a final conclusion.