The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The given argument states that the autonomy of a country is based on the strength of it's borders and this is directly related to the security of a country with respect to illegal immigrants. If a count cannot be kept of the number of illegal immigrants entering the country, then it's economy and national identity are endangered. Hence it suggests that illegal immigrants pose threats and must be made to return to their country of origin. There are a number of assumptions present in the argument which we will consider in the forthcoming content.

Firstly, the argument states that autonomy of a nation is solely based on it's borders' strength and security present. It undermines several other parameters and overlooks their presence in deciding a crucial and important thing like autonomy. The country's growth, economy, policies, governance and quixotic morals are also imperative to decide on its status of autonomy. The influence or the clout that the country has over the world, it's involvement in making decisions on a global scale and the interdependency that it shares with other nations pertaining to trade, external affairs, etc., also makes key contribution to decide whether it deserves to be autonomous or not.

To further strengthen this haphazard assumption, the argument adds an adjoining explanation which states that the if the country is unable to check the number of illegal immigrants, its economy and national identity are at risk. Here the assumption made is that the country is incapable of documenting the entry of an illegal immigrant and hence the entire scenario is not within control. Next, it assumes that all illegal immigrants are a potential threat and only by rejecting their presence completely can we protect the economy. It assumes only the negative traits of a probable illegal immigrant. As a solution to these problems, it suggests the only option is to deport the immigrants to their country of origin. Here, it assumes that the immigrants would accept going back to their country and have in the first place left their homes not in a wilful state.

To prove the assumptions unwarranted we can look at some data which gives information about the immigrants, their previous circumstances and their current role in a country to which they migrated illegally. If these statistics show that they have had a salubrious impact on the society in general after immigration and their roles have contributed significantly to the country's economy then the argument holds as fallacious.

Also such demeaning policies would bring the country and its government in unpropitious circumstances and bad light when we consider humanitarian causes. Hence, the assumptions should be made considering all aspects of the given subject and considering all possible possibilities without having unwarranted bias towards the nature of illegal immigrants.