An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In one simple glance we can see that the new breed of millet, engineered to be high in vitamin A, seems to be an appropriate way to overcome the deficiency of the vitamin in the impoverished nation of Tagus. But before promoting the product a few things need to be accounted for.

The argument suggests that Tagus is an impoverished nation. On the other hand the seeds for this new type of millet cost more, though the author adds that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. But the question here is whether production would require monetary support from the government. Since, a government of an impoverished nation is already suffering under the weight of financial liabilities, we must check whether this investment will have any adverse impact on the current economic scenario. A cost-benefit analysis and in-depth study of past agrarian structure and investments will shed light on this.

Since a farmer needs to consider several factors before farming a crop it gives rise to questions pertaining to agriculture. Will the new crop and it's cultivation have an adverse impact on the farming cycle and the nutritional content of the soil? This is essential because farmers grow crops in systematic cycles depending on climate of the area, nutritional content of the soil, requirements of the crop, etc. In such a scenario, if the introduction of a new crop hampers the growth of other indigenous crops that have been grown from a long time, then it might not be propitious to add the new breed for the farmer.

Also we must check whether the new breed of millet has specific requirements for cultivation and the possibility of these requirements to be fulfilled. If a commitment to grow a crop is made and the idea promoted without answering this then in the future run, either the crop itself would suffer from diseases or else the surrounding area might get affected. Hence, requirements of the crop must be taken into account.

The argument suggests that the people of Tagus already have millet in their staple diet. This indicates that they will easily adopt the new breed as well. But appropriate dietary implications must be studied and the side-effects of the millet should also be noted. Since, the population is not already accustomed with the new breed and might have effects on the body in addition to those interested or targeted we should take care of this question in the earlier stage itself.

The argument also suggests that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. The impact of this measure on the economic status of the farmer and the government should also be considered. An educated analysis of the scenario before the addition of the breed and after the addition of the breed will help us answer this. Answering it is essential because farmers need to know what kind of impact would subsidies have on them before growing the crop.

Also before accepting the new breed of millet we must check for other options which can have similar or better impact and reducing deficiency. This market understanding will help us gain a bigger outlook and ensure that only the most apt method is implemented to combat in-deficiency.

Hence, we have considered a few essential questions that must be answered before cultivating the new breed of millet. This will help us ensure that the step is taken keeping everything in mind, indicating that all the possibilities have been considered and thoroughly thought. To summarize following are the list of questions that we have mentioned above:

1. Does the production require monetary support from the government?

2. Does the new crop and it's cultivation have an adverse impact on the farming cycle and the nutritional content of the soil?

3. Does the new breed of millet have specific requirements for cultivation and what is the possibility of these requirements to be fulfilled?

4. What are the dietary implications and side-effects of the millet on the body?

5. What is the impact of subsidies on the economic status of the farmer and the government?

6. Are their other options available which can have similar or better impact and reducing deficiency?