Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Equality among the men and women, the yin and yang that constitute human population has always been considered as a part of a long-running, contentious debate. They are physically different but should we give so much of importance to the physical aspects as to differentiate their roles completely and demarcate a boundary separating the tasks performed by each gender? The given statement sheds light on this and I chose to disagree with it.

There are myriad historical instances which show that there always existed a boundary. Women were thought of as the child bearers and home makers. Public sphere eluded them in a professional sense. Men were the breadwinners and earned money. Women who worked were looked down upon and shunned. They were ridiculed and thought of as potential competitors and threat in the male patriarchal society. Even though this prejudice was rampant, it did not succeed in deterring the female hope and women continued to handle challenging jobs and simultaneously ignoring the disparaging remarks that were showered upon them along the way.

Today, in the 21st century we can definitely say the situation is much better. Job roles are diverse and more accepting and the bias based on gender has reduced to a great extent, but it is not completely eliminated. It still exists but in a way which is not so revealing. Women working in male-dominated jobs and functioning everyday in an environment commonly associated with men, have agreed on seeing an underlying sense of discrimination. It is as if the society wants to seem accepting, but they have themselves not been capable enough to expand their horizon and augment their thinking, to accept women performing all roles and sharing responsibilities, shoulder to shoulder with the men.

From mechanics to astronauts, from doctors to pilots, from scientists to CEOs the world has been witness to several powerful, inspiring and eminent women who have shown us that growth is possible, if we have the desire to flourish. They have proved that no bias or prejudice can stop a woman from achieving what she wants if she has the will for it. An ignorant person might counter and raise a question that child-bearing is still a women's job and cannot be accomplished by a man. To disprove that I would say, science has advanced and there are medical geniuses who have made it possible for men to carry a child.

Hence, there never was a job exclusive for men or exclusive for women. We can find examples in mythology and history which suggest that neither God nor man could ever suggest which tasks must be done by which gender. The capabilities bestowed are equal, and so are skills and strength. So, if there is anything that needs to change is the mindset or mentality of people and the masses in general to accept. In fact, it should never matter who is doing the work as long as the work is being done perfectly. It should never be a question of which gender performed it. It may sound nonsensical as a question but we all know few incidents when such a scenario was in front of us.

Let us start respecting people for what they do rather than what they are. Let us build a society that eliminates bias or prejudice on anything as stupid as gender. Let us start believing in the women around us. Our mothers, sisters, daughters, wives and all womenfolk have always been capable to drive the society as equals with the men. It's not about feminism, it's about equality. We are not considering anyone superior, but we are not even demeaning someone. The day when this becomes a reality is the day when we can truly call ourselves successful in building a quality society.