The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Living in the public sphere, as a celebrated musician, under the scrutiny of the masses, is not anyone's cup of tea. From lack of privacy, to the illusion of a perfect, starry life without the conundrums and humdrums of the mundane quotidian, it has its on share of heydays and dullness. I believe and agree to the statement suggesting that the real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

This follows the basic essentials of living that suggest, is your absence felt and as important as your presence? Let us consider a musician who has always been on the peak of his career. With a string of hits and several Grammy nominations he has achieved a feat possibly insurmountable for any other human. In true words, he is a living legend. But mark my words a "living" legend. What if in a cruel turn of fate, he succumbs to a sudden, fatal disease and leaves for the heavenly abode. Undoubtedly his fans, followers, admirers and the general population will be deep in grief for their loss. But for how long? It may even take a few years for people to cope with the loss, but then they might move on.

Does that mean that the singer's success was ephemeral or transient? Since, his followers have moved ahead to other rising celebrities and his work seems far from being evergreen, with people losing track of it under the influence of burgeoning chartbusters, we can infer his work seems to be forgotten. A few generations down the line, if people are unable to even recall his hits and the aura that he had in his heydays, then sadly the honest assessment states that the singer was a great personality only in his lifetime and not for a million lifetimes.

On the other hand there are musicians like Elvis Presley and Michael Jackson whose works are being appreciated even years after their death. That is the true essence of appreciation. If people remember you, adore you and cherish what you have created and achieved in your lifetime, then it seems you have become one of those icons who are evergreen. You may be no more but you still hold importance and people are reminiscent about you. Hence, here the honest assessment states that your fame shall never die even though you have breathed your last.

Well, but that is not the end of the tale. I believe we should not measure the talent and creative potential of an artist by his fame during the days when he breathed life or after he was laid to rest. Rather, we should consider the impact they have created in totality in their lifetime with respect to positivity, progress and supported the causes relevant or pertinent to those times, by their passive support or active participation. Since, fame has always been a parameter to gauge a person's success we have quite unfairly forgotten the basic qualities that make a good human. Hence, if we try to shift our focus from measuring and quantifying a person's fame at any point in his life and instead consider his contribution to society then we are not only making ourselves better but also increasing our respect for the celebrity by million folds.