"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is one of the fundamentals of any civilization. It is the nation's responsibility to ensure provision of quality and effective education. In this quest for the country, the statement suggests that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Agreeing to this statement, I would like to explain why is this recommendation in the right direction towards holistic and wholesome education for all.

It ensures uniformity and equality for all students. Since, every student has been provided with the same set of skills and opportunity, it removes any sort of prejudice, bias and instills a sense of alikeness. This is a great step to ensure that differences between caste, creed, colour, race and religion at formative stages are removed using the weapon of education. It will place all students at the same pedestal and ensure that their dreams and ambition are not marred by societal elements which are beyond their control.

Since the primary task of education is to empower students and enable them for the world ahead, such a methodology will eliminate any society evils or unnecessary material that might crop in the teaching process. Students will be taught the same content, in a similar fashion and they wouldn't have to face problems due to differences in their background.

On the country's perspective it would be easier to handle, modify and overlook a single curriculum rather than multiple diverse curriculums. The makers can ensure that this single curriculum is always upto the mark, relevant to current times and endows the student with all essential skills. This one curriculum will also be a representative of the country's interest with respect to education.

But all good things have their own set of problems. Since, the curriculum is uniform, a student will not get the chance to pursue something different. Adhering to the nation-wide curriculum may not be a propitious scenario for such students. Vocational training and other courses based on personal interest might get restricted. The primary purpose of education is not just to teach but also to develop an interest in the student and let the inquisitive spirit inside him grow. If the student has to put up with something that is not what interests him, then he might grow to be resentful and think of it as a lack of opportunity to learn.

Also, at a later stage of college if diversity in curriculum is introduced the students might not be able to handle the spectrum of options and choices available to them. Since, they have grown and always learnt in a uniform environment they might not be able to accept the differences present at this stage. In addition, since the curriculum was a medley of all branches it has not equipped the student with specialized knowledge complying with his chosen field of study.

Nevertheless, we infer that this issue is best handled by the nation's policymakers and depends on what the students are more comfortable with. Any recommendation needs to be thoroughly analysed considering all factors, before it is implemented on the common folk. Nelson Mandela has lucidly put "Education is the most powerful weapon with which you can change the world." Hence, the curriculum must be crafted thoughtfully and appropriately considering the interests of everyone involved.