People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans are said to be either left-brained or right-brained, with both hemispheres differing substantially in their cerebral capacity, and their response mechanisms in the decision-making process. This suggests either a logical or an emotional bent and we can infer that decision making can be done in two ways. But agreeing to the statement, I believe poor decision makers are those who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards.

This is simply due to the fact that the entire decision making process should adhere to one school- either emotional or logical. An emotional decision is based on impulse, may be whimsical and governed by factors beyond logic. This decision is not based on data, statistics or has no quantitative support. Moving towards the logical decision we can say it is based on facts and reasoned thoroughly keeping a lot of quantitative factors in mind and keeping qualitative influences at bay.

When a person tries to justify an emotional decision on the basis of logic, he/she is trying to derive quantitative factors at a later stage which does not conform to the fundamentals of science or for that matter even the decision-making process. A decision which was initially made considering emotional context holds a different value than the one based on logic. Using any of the two ideas to justify the other would seem absurd and would not comply to any of them.

Though, if a decision made in a situation, which doesn't provide us with sufficient time frame to evaluate multiple factors and choose logic in the initial stages and relies heavily on emotion, shifts gears in the end to justify logically, wouldn't seem entirely wrong to me. Such decisions are made in the nick of time and that shouldn't stop the person from validating it logically even at a later stage. Doing so, will only increase his perspective and help him judge his own impulse-driven decisions accurately. It'll also help him build his instincts in the right direction. In a future scenario, he'll only be able to make a more informed decision that does not violate the boundaries of emotion or logic and at the same time is decided in a way deemed appropriate by both ideologies.

This helps us understand that selecting a side and considering a decision-making process is subject to a lot of parameters within and outside our control. A person should be more concerned with the considerations involved to make a decision and the impact of the decision rather then favoring a particular bent or structure of the process. In my opinion, strong or poor decision makers are made by their decisions and the impact they create on the world in general, rather than the means used to make a decision.