A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The given statement states that a person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor. I completely agree with the claim since if someone has committed a crime knowingly, completely being cognizant of their actions and consequences, then they have betrayed the society as a whole.

No social environment supports unethical or criminal behaviour which is of unscrupulous and diabolical intention. Hence, participating or engaging in any such social activity either knowingly or under oblivion, is not only heinous but also detrimental for the perpetrator as well as the victim. If a person with total possession of their civil rights commits something looked down upon, then definitely their rights and freedom should be revoked. Neither should they be benefitted by any regular livelihood they perform.

There are multiple reasons on which the given claim is based. Firstly, any person who is a part of a healthy society is legally and morally bound to act within limits and have an appropriate conduct with fellow citizens. If the line is crossed then undoubtedly legal action must be taken and the authorities need to intervene. As a response to activity which does not conform to the standards of a balanced and halcyon society, strict measures must be taken. This includes anything from revoking civil rights to imprisonment.

Moreover if the criminal wants to move ahead and benefit from his hard work, toil and labour; he should not be allowed to do so unless completely absolved of his misdeeds. This is because a recidivist will never change his course after a punishment. If he has the nerve and gall to commit a crime with complete knowledge then a mere sentence will not affect him resulting in a change of heart. Hence, such crimes must be dealt by adopting a strict approach and no clemency should be permitted for the offender.

However some will choose to defer and rather suggest that when a person wants to change for the good who are we to stop him just because his past puts him under bad light. The claim does not prevent the offender from taking a positive turn. However, it just indicates that we should be chary of such anti-social elements and approach their cases thoughtfully.

In addition there always steps taken to ensure and validate whether a person has fully recovered and taken the salubrious path of life. We can always verify if he has left the base behaviour and moved ahead to a new beginning. Only after assuring should step further and adopt a method to approach the case pertaining to a criminal and decide on its outcome.