"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states, that during the past year, fewer people attended movies produced by Super Screen than in any other year though the percentage of positive reviews actually increased in the same duration. Hence, a recommendation given by him is to allocate a greater share of budget next year to reach the people through advertising. There are several questions that need to be discussed to decide whether the argument and the recommendation are reasonable. They are delineated below.

Firstly, we need to check the trends of movie-goers for the past few years. If there is a decline in the total number of people going for movies then this would suggest a global scenario which has inadvertently affected Super Screen along with other production companies as well. It would simply mean that all movies have fared lesser audience than previous years. Hence, no increment needs to be made in the advertising budget.

Moreover, we need to consider other platforms like online streaming, for eg. Netflix and Amazon Prime, and television that have showcased Super Screen's movies. We consider the viewership on these alternate platforms and determine whether a drop is seen here as well, or an antithetical increase is found. If the results show a drop then it would mean that the movies produced by Super Screen does not appeal to a lot of people and has a selective audience. However, if we see a growth in the numbers then it would mean that viewers prefer options alternate to cinemas for the movie experience. Hence, in this scenario again advertising revenue can remain unchanged for the upcoming year.

In addition, we need to see the forms of advertising that are being currently employed. If advertisements are made on media platforms that do not cater to majority of the audience, or are being made at time slots which do not cover a lot of people in the society then it would mean that the ways of advertising are incorrect. In such a case we must ensure that prime-time slots show advertisements of Super Screen movies and only those mediums are used to achieve this purpose which are accepted by most people.

Along with the above considerations, we can have an extensive survey that covers majority of people and takes their view on Super Screen movies. They can be asked if they have seen any movies produced by Super Screen in the past year, the platform on which they saw the movie, their review about the movie, etc. Apart from the movie-centric questions, they can also be asked if they have seen advertisements for any of the movies and the occurrence or frequency of the same. This would give a quantitative and direct idea of how efficacious has advertising been. Extrapolating from these empirical results, we can then conclude what measures need to be taken after the faults in the implemented methodology are found.

Therefore, we summarise the questions to be discussed to decide on the recommendation as follows:What are the trends of movie-goers for the past few years? Is the decline of audience a trend common to most production companies or confined to Super Screen? What has been the viewership on alternate platforms? What forms of advertising are currently employed? Are they reaching the majority or are instead being made during hours that do not have a significant audience? What are the views of the general public on movies made by Super Screen? These questions would help us come to a conclusive decision about the recommendation pertaining to the argument.