"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in a

In the given argument, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company recommends allocating a greater share of its budget on advertising the movies in the coming year. Per him, a recent report from the marketing department claimed that during the past year, the number of people attending the movies was the least when compared to any other year. He claims that despite getting positive reviews about the movies, the contents of the reviews are not reaching enough of the target audience.

Albeit, the advertising director has tried his best to make recommendations to increase the number of viewers of his production house, the claims made in the given argument still remain unwarranted. A number of questions need to be addressed before we finally culminate to a decision and decide to allocate a greater share of the budget to advertising.

First, in the report being talked here drafted by the marketing department, no enumeration has been clearly demarcated. The report fails to provide quantitative data as to how fewer the numbers are? How many people generally attended the movies in the previous years? How many attended the movie during the past one year? what was the difference between the two? Was the trend seen only for a specific type of movies or for all the genres? Also, nowhere has been mentioned about the movie halls that showcased his movies. It is plausible that the cinema halls preferred other movies over his to be broadcasted. Hence, the majority of the people are not even aware of such movies are released or not.

Second, a clear use of the word "specific" has been done in the argument where the director claims that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased during the past year. This clearly means that movies of only a specific genre were reviewed positively by the viewers. It is possible that the rest of the movies were recondite and incomprehensible to the general public or may be based on a mundane storyline. It is also possible that the ideas were hackneyed and hence not preferred much by the movie lovers.

Third, the director very confidently claims that the problem is not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness. What is the base to make such a claim? Are these self-claimed notions or was it the result of a constant feedback mechanism? Are any critics involved in the claims or were these totally made on one's own analysis? It is pretty obvious that the director himself would never have any negative views about his own movies. Why would he? He has spent his money, time and energy working on it day and night? And this is pretty acceptable. Alas, not sufficient to jump to conclusions without any substantial grounds.

Hence, all the above nuances need to be scrutinized carefully before we can finally agree with the director's decision of increasing the budget on advertising rather than monitoring the content of his movies. I think a deeper analysis needs to be undertaken by the director before finally deploying a larger amount of money on advertising. He probably needs to make a smart choice here and I think all the questions raised above can definitely help to reach a fruitful conclusion.