A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The given argument suggests that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in the suburban areas of United states. The explanation provided here is that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year indicating, that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. However there are alternate possibilities that could explain for the facts provided in the argument.

Tooth decay is directly dependent on the dietary habits of children. Since, children in the suburban areas have greater access of food products that are high in sugar content, the chances of tooth decay are more. On the other hand, children living in the bucolic and pastoral mountain region of Nepal, have limited access to such processed foods. Due to the minimal exposure to such edible products, tooth decay in these regions may be lesser.

Tooth decay is also dependent on the lifestyle of children. Their dental habits dictate the quality of teeth they have. Since, children of mountain region have simpler lifestyles, their dental habits are not fastidious and conform to the traditional lifestyle that mankind had before the advent of industrialization and global growth in manufacturing. There are rural areas that still use the bark of herbal trees like Neem, in contrast to a plastic toothbrush and paste combo for maintaining oral hygiene. Ancient texts and further studies have proved that such dental habits are not only beneficial, but also cost effective and with long-lasting positive effects on oral health.

The argument also further suggests that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. This is a fallacious statement because regular dental care helps in keeping track of the status of the teeth and gums. Also, tooth decay can be identified in early stages and worked upon if regular dental checkups are ensured. In addition, it may be safe to assume that the purpose of a dental checkup is more of identification of weak spots in the teeth than to immediately rectify the associated problems. Dental checkups can also not be effective if damage is done to a great extent,i.e., in early stages it is easier to handle a small-scale problem than managing a large-scale disaster in an advanced stage. Hence, it is better to regularly ensure dental checkups are performed to maintain teeth.