An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Doctors are a manifestation of God. They perform diagnosis, regular checkups and identify the presence of any diseases, detect their symptoms effectively and help with the cure. The given recommendation suggests that an ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. By gaining such access, the ailing patient might be able to better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat the patient's malady or not. Hence, we further expatiate the pros and cons of obtaining such information.

The patient might receive the doctor's previous data on treating similar ailments. However, there is no guarantee that the patient is adequately qualified to understand the specific details and idiosyncrasies of a particular case. Moreover, not all patients diagnosed with similar symptoms have the same disease in equal extents. As bodies and their functioning varies form person to person, likewise the immunity and tolerance levels greatly differ, in turn having a profound impact on each person's health in a unique way. There is nothing ubiquitous when it comes to health and its study. This directly indicates that even after receiving such information, firstly we cannot guarantee that the patient will obtain full understanding of his/her malady, and second he/she cannot make apposite and pertinent assumptions of his/her treatment by the concerned doctor based on other patients' data.

In addition, each medical case has its own complexity and is tackled as suitable for the patient. This implies that the doctor's work cannot be judged based on his patient's records because each of them will have their own complications and therefore cannot be judged with the same yardstick. Also if the patient gathers such information then he/she may have presumptions about the treatment which might exacerbate the entire situation. A person who is not in the pink of his/ health should not be unnecessarily burdened about any matter which can result in things taking a turn for the worse. Hence, it does not make sense to share or reveal a doctor's records to the patient.

Nevertheless, on the positive end of the spectrum, knowing a doctor's treatment pattern and track record will only help boost the ailing patient's confidence that his/her health will ameliorate. It will also help the patient know the traits of a particular doctor, whether he has been successful in treating similar cases, or whether he gouges his patients or whether he is an infamous charlatan. Such knowledge of work ethics will prevent the patient from facing obstacles and insecurities in the later stage of treatment. It will also give the patient an opportunity to get aware about the treatment pattern and compare doctors before making a choice.

Let us consider a few examples to further bolster our opinion. If a doctor has been popular in his medical profession since time immemorial, and is renowned far and wide across the continents as the most skilled professional then any upcoming patient would feel secure that his/her health is in safe hands. Another instance is when a doctor has successfully established his position in treating similar cases and has the most positive feedback the again the patient would not think twice about consulting this particular doctor to treat his ailment. However, if some doctor has made a name in the industry by unscrupulous means and fleeces people of their money then knowing the doctor's records would help the patient avoid any future troubles by undergoing treatment with him in-charge.

Hence, as we can see there are several reasons and counter-arguments possible for the recommendation. Any decision must be made only after thorough revision of the medical laws and after consulting doctors regarding the matter. Surveys can also be conducted to gain an understanding of how the doctors or ailing patients would react to this recommendation. These surveys would delineate what the masses find agreeable and accordingly suggest the future plan of action.