Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Organisations adopt a lot of policies that ensure surveillance and monitoring of activities necessary and pertinent to the functioning of the company. This includes a policy to conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Though the introduction of such a policy has benefits as well as disadvantages, we expatiate further to see how efficacious would its implementation be.

There is no doubt that such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity. E-mails which are no longer required or seem irrelevant in the current date can be discarded into the bin. This will also help prioritize as well as categorize the e-mails that are still needed and eliminate unnecessary clutter from the system. For example, we regularly clean our work-spaces whether houses or offices to ensure that work progresses smoothly and without any impediments. Similarly if the company management routinely monitors the e-mails it will save the system capacity used for storage and data access as well as the access time gets reduced since the e-mail management service requires lesser time to ferret the required information through the inbox.

This monitoring will also highlight the kind of exchange between employers and employees vertically or horizontally in the organisation of the company. It will show irregularities, miscommunications, and any inappropriateness which needs to be strongly looked after by the management. It will also be a written proof of any misdoings and might be of help to resolve issues within the workforce of the organisation. Since, e-mails hold value when it comes to the kind of content they carry, the relevance of the content, and the presentation of content, such monitoring would highlight discrepancies in the form of communication. The findings can also be analysed and in turn used as a didactic tool to help employees understand the nuances of e-mail exchange.

In addition, such an implementation would protect the company from lawsuits. If the company is periodically keeping a tab of how communication functions via e-mail it can take necessary precautionary measures to avoid any later legal hassles. For example, if an employee has used language which can be deemed as inappropriate for the work environment, that may be of a threatening or incendiary nature, then the management can ensure that stringent action is taken to reprimand the employee and show the glaring outcomes that such e-mails could possibly have on the employee as well as the company. Another example could be that if a company is embroiled or mired in a legal controversy then it can use the e-mail exchanges as legal and court-approved proofs to bolster or buttress its stand on the case.

Nevertheless, there is a counter-view which suggests that monitoring of employee e-mails would be a breach of privacy and might make the workplace seem strict, authoritative and create a sense of fear among the staff. Hence, if the monitoring is performed not in an intrusive way, keeping in mind the primary objectives of taking such a step then we can surely consider the move to be salubrious for the company.