All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given statements suggest that companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficaciously. Rather if they were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary. This is a completely plausible approach for dealing with the the employer-employee equation and I absolutely agree with the suggestion provided.

Companies are built by the people who work for it. They have greater idea about the work culture and environment. They are full cognizant of its rules, regulations and canons that delineate the company's guidelines for its staff. An outsider, such as a consultant would not be fully abreast and aware of the minutiae of the company and may not be able to cater to its needs in the best possible way.

The consultant might be a virtuoso when it comes to his/her skills and may even possess plethora of information and knowledge. However, he/she is still incapable of understanding the gears that run the company and the several arrangements made within the office and the reasons behind why most of the stuff works, the way it does. So any suggestions offered by the pundit of organizational efficiency, may not be easily accepted by the people working over there because firstly, they might have their qualms about an outsider evaluating and suggesting them. Secondly, there might be mental impediments of accepting and functioning in a way to suit a person with whom they are not yet accustomed. Hence, the salubrious intention behind employing a consultant might not get translated in reality.

Instead, as suggested the company can always have people of the organisation itself devoted to redress and attend to employees' grievances. This will not only improve the relationship between the hierarchy of the organisation but also ameliorate the minor scuffles between those involved. Another boon of such a measure is that it will circumscribe matters pertinent to the company and abstain from involving outsiders or divulging information to those outside the organisation.

Nevertheless, a different mindset would suggest that a consultant is someone who is not associated with the company and hence the suggestions provided by such an individual would not be biased or prejudiced in any possible way. Its said that an outsider has a more disinterested or neutral view which can be a probable explanation of why his/her presence must seem vital. In addition the staff employed to address the employees concerns about the company might have some reservations or prejudice, thus preventing an impartial outcome. This will not only prove to be stymie to the company's growth but also affect the various relationships present in the company.

Hence, both outlooks have their own pros and cons. In the end, its up to the company to decide and accept what works best for it. By experimenting and finding empirical evidence it can eventually bring about the right changes and establish the perfect, balanced methodology that helps maintain peace at the workplace.