The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument suggests that an environmental protection group has sent a petition to residents of Youngtown suggesting that the Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. In the petition several assumptions are made pertinent to the scenario which are further expounded below in detail.

The first stated assumption made is that the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for the area. The environmental protection group mentions that though only a small percentage of land will be sold to Smith, it will affect the area in harmful ways. It nowhere mentions how will it have a deleterious impact, nor does it discuss the ways in which this outcome can be mitigated. The petition straightaway gives the ultimatum that Smith Corporation's work on the land must be proscribed by the residents. If this assumption of pernicious consequences for the area is proven unwarranted, not only will it undermine the environmental protection group's status, but the residents will also cast their doubts as to why was the group deliberately against this move. Another implication would be that the area suffers a possible loss with what it could have gained in the form of revenue after the construction of the hotel.

The petition further adds that the company plans to build a small hotel on the land. This is followed by another accusation that though the corporation has promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. Here, the group simply excoriates a progressive mechanism of modifying the land without harming the sanctuary. It assumes that there will be nothing but unpropitious outcomes after the changes are made. It fails to consider the corporation's accommodations of preserving the sanctuary even after building the hotel.

In later part of the text it is mentioned that tourists flock this area primarily to see the magnificent bird population and in no circumstances would this sale benefit the community. Considering this we can assume that a probable reason behind Smith Corporation building a hotel here is to allow the tourists to experience the area and its birds more closely. If the environmental protection group continues its attack with the single motive that there is nothing but harm in this development then it is depriving the area of more tourists that might come because of stay facilities in the area. This indicates that if the count of tourists does not increase then the area would find a shortage in revenue generated which will directly affect people's livelihood. Instead, if after the construction of the hotel, more tourists visit the place, then jobs would increase due to people working in the hotel and as tour guides for the sanctuary, and a favorable impact would also be seen on the revenue generated. It will also ensure that the sanctuary is maintained properly for tourist satisfaction, which will turn out to be salubrious for the wildlife existing there.

Hence, as we have examined the environmental protection group's petition that slanders the Smith Corporation and its work pertinent to construction at the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. It fails to prove the assumptions made which are summarized below:

1. The proposed development will have disastrous consequences for the area.

2. The building of small hotel on the land will harm the sanctuary.

3. There is no circumstances under which this sale will benefit the community.

Therefore, the residents of Youngtown must deliberate carefully before considering anything indicated by the petition and make a decision that supports growth and development of the area without affecting the sanctuary in any possible way.