The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the petition, the environmental protection group states that The Smith Corporation plans to purchase and develop a hotel on the land which is a part of Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. They state that the hotel will have disastrous consequences on the area and that it will harm the sanctuary. However, we would like to examine this conclusion by explaining three assumptions the protection group has made.

The argument states that only a small amount of land will be sold to Smith Corporation. However, it does not mention the area the entire land covers, or how far the sanctuary is from the land sold. For instance, it is highly possible that maybe the distance between the land where the hotel is to be developed and the sanctuary are so far apart that it does not have any impact on the sanctuary irrespective of whether the hotel is causing harm or not. The argument should take into account how far the two entities are from each other as the first step and later, examine its consequences at that distance. Without examining this, the claim that the hotel after being developed will harm the environment stands unwarranted.

In addition to the distance, the argument also assumes that the developed small hotel will definitely cause disastrous consequences to the area as well as the sanctuary. It maybe possible that The Smith Corporation understands that the sanctuary is nearby and hence, they already have mitigation plans. For example, the Corporation's development plans might be done by a team which is highly skilled at developing hotels and ensuring that the environment will have zero negative impact. Thus, just like the previous assumption, even this one does not stand grounds as there are chances of the owners already taking proactive measures to ensure that the environment is completely safe for the sanctuary.

The argument has even stated that the community relies on tourist to visit the bird population. It is possible that the hotel might serve as a accomodation for the tourists and this would thus allow tourists to spend more time. There might be limited accomodations available which would be a concern for tourists to visit. This hotel might thus lead to more tourists visiting the place and thus the community will benefit from this.

As discussed, without answering these assumptions, the argument is flawed and does not stand water. The environmental protection group must thus examine these more profoundly so that the petition will have a stronger purpose and thus, warrant the argument.