The following appeared in a health newsletter."A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the newsletter, the author states that the government should focus more on awareness about bicycle safety and not much on requiring bicyclists to wear helmets as a precaution. The author conncludes this on the basis that in the last 10 years, even as the percent of people wearing helmets have increased by 45 percent, the accidents involving bicycles have risen by 200 percent. this conclusion can be warranted if the author could answer these assumptions.

Firstly, the author compares the data of 10 years based on percentages and does not take into account that the population within 10 years might have rised significantly and thus 200 percent of the population after 10 years might still be less as compared to the number of accidents occured 10 years ago. this accidents would have lowered significantly due to the fact that biclycists wearing helmets have rised and thus, there are less number of accidents as compared to the previous years.

Additionally, the author assumes that the percent rise in accidents despite bicyclists wearing helmets is because bicyclists now feel a lot safer and hence take more risks while riding. this might not be true since maybe the accidents do not occur due to rash driving on part of the biclycists, accidents may involve more than one entity and hence, it may be that most of the accidents occur due to negligence of the other entity involved in the accident. maybe, a bicylist and a car met an accident; upon investigations, we find that the car's driver was drunk and was speeding way beyond the roads limits. hence, there may be a lot of cases, where helmets or the bicyclists intentions have nothing to do with the accidents.

also, the number of people wearing helmets have increased since people are aware of bicyle safety and hence, understand the importance of wearing helmets. this may have increased due to strong advertising from the government on the use of helmets. this may also lead to preventing a lot of critical injuries in accidents and hence, if the government stops encouraging people on wearing helmets, it might lead to more serious injuries than before and thus, completely invalidating the author's argument.

As a result, we found out a number of cases where the author's statements prove unwarranted and might lead to serious problems. thus, the author's conclusion will need more research to propose that the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets.