The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The environmental protection group state that the small piece of land belonging to Youngtown Wildlife Preserve must not be sold to the Smith Corporation since it will have pernicious environmental consequences. They back this claim by arguing that the sanctuary is home to 300 bird species and the corporation aims to build a hotel in that area which will likely cause danger to the birds. Though the argument seems cogent at the first glance, there are a few logical fallacies since it is based on several assumptions.

Primarily, the group assumes that the construction of the hotel by Smith Corporation will surely hamper tourism in the town. But this is not necessarily true. It is likely that, Smith Corporation is building a small hotel in order to provide stay for the tourists that come to the town to see the birds in the sanctuary. If this were true, then a hotel in the wildlife so close to the birds will surely attract more tourists. This way, tourism in the town will improve and the sale will be of mutual benefit to the town as well as the corporation. the The protection group dismisses this possibility altogether which makes their claim specious at best.

Additionally, the group assumes the financial status of the town and the sanctuary to be in a good position. However, it is possible that the town lacks the monetary resources to maintain the sanctuary and is looking to sell the piece of land to Smith Corporation in order to generate revenue and alleviate their impecunious state. Through this sale, Youngtown Wildlife Preserve can get enough money in order to sustain the bird population and even improve the condition of the sanctuary. If this were true, then it seriously undermines the claim made by the group.

The protection group also assumes that the proposed construction will have deleterious effects on the area. However, this assumption cannot be justified without proper evidence. It is plausible that Smith Corporation can construct the hotel with no damage to the environment. Additionally, they may include technologies such as solar energy harvesting and rain water harvesting which may prove to be beneficial to the environment. If their construction methods are environment friendly and they include such features in their construction, then the claim made by the group does not hold water.

In conclusion, as it stands, the claim is not persuasive enough since it bases its arguments on several unwarranted assumptions. Only when these assumptions are explicitly stated and answered can we fully evaluate the veracity of their claim.