An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

I strongly disagree with the statement given. Knowing how a doctor treats the patient is dependent on the patient's actual condition as well. Even if multiple patients suffer from the same ailment, it is possilble that because of age, gender and several other factors, a different treatment was given to patient. This could potentially create confusion and mistrust between the patient and doctor. This relationship needs to be preserved, especially if the case is serious. If the dorctor is inexperienced / relatively new in the field, there is high probability that people would not consider taking advice or being operated by him/her, even though (s)he is great at it.

Also, doctors are taught to follow a certain sequence, and not to be biased by opinions. Although experience plays an important role in this, there are always multiple ways to judge a doctor's competency. In village areas, where there is a dearth of even the right equipment, getting a doctor's opinion would be more important; let alone getting medical records of similar patients. In the urban areas, people generally tend to trust online reviews and brand-names. Again, the question to consider here is: how anonymous the data is? Would people be willing to provide their data for future use?

Patient's privacy is of paramount importance to both the hospital and the patient's family. The data is clearly the fuel of the future, and how that data is used by the other patient is unknown. For such a system to exist, it needs to be fail-proof which is clearly challenging to implement. Multiple governments have tried to link the medical records with the patient's identity, but the privacy breach generally makes it difficult for them to opt such measures. So, past reviews, standard operating procedures for an ailment should be a good pointers to know how good a doctor is. Knowing what the results were previously, does not give the exact or whole picture that patient is looking for.