The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument has been raised by an Environmental protection group rasing their voice against development of a land that is a part of Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. Although concern for environment is neccesary but the argument here do not provide reasoning that are acceptable.

The group has made a claimed that the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for their area. There is no reason as to why this claim should be plausible. The haven't mentioned any specific consequence that the development of land might cause to their area. It might be possible that the development may not actually be disastrous. Had the author mentioned details about the type of disaster that the development could cause the claim would be more acceptable.

Further claim is that the development in no circumstances can benefit the group and their community. There are no reasons behind why the assumption is made. The development may infact prove beneficial as it may attract more tourists to the area. As stated, the plan for land development is building a small hotel. If built, the hotel might attract more tourists towards the sanctuary as it will be in close vicinity. Hence it would lead to increase in sale of the community as they can benefit form being guide to the tourists. Hence they may get hike in their business. Moreover, increasing number of tourists can also lead to increase in other sales for the community like local items that are being sold at tourist spots. Hence, the development sounds beneficial for the sales of the community. The group has nowhere mentioned why the development would lead to not anything but harm to the community.

The argument states that only a small percent of land will be sold to the Smith. Also it is stated that the Smith corporation has promised the preservation of the wildlife sanctuary but the environment protection group asserts that in no way the Smith preserve the sanctuary. The plans of Smith will definitely harm the sanctuary. This is an assumption by the group that The Smith will definitley cause the degradation of the sanctuary. There are no points mentioned by the group about what harm they are concerned about. It appears that the group just want to stop The Smith from land development. There might be some hidden rivalry between members of The Smith and some people in the community. Si that the people in the community do not want The Smith of earn business and are just trying to hinder their cause. Had something been mentioned about why the land shouldn't be given to The Smith, some past failures of the corporation, etc the argument would be more convincing.

Hence we can conclude that the argument is not backed by strong reasons. The claims in the argument sound false as they do not have supporting evidence with them. So it fails to give a correct interpretation of the concern for the environment by the environment protection group. If there would have been some specific examples, numbers mentioned the argument have been cogent one.