The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prediction here is that if Kensington Academy does not replace Swift Nutrition with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students. This prediction is derived from the argument that the company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable. There are several questions to be answered in order to decide whether this prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Firstly, the parent says that his/her son and several friends have complained about the lunch options. Considering this we need to have a survey of all students of Kensington Academy regarding their views of the cafeteria. This will help us know whether the parent's concern is limited to a small set of children or highlights the view of majority of student body. If the Academy does not consider the opinion of the majority then any changes made with respect to the cafeteria might not be synchronized with the beliefs of most people involved.

Moving on we can see that the intent of hiring Swift Nutrition as assumed by the parent may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods. Hence, here we need to answer the question of why Swift Nutrition manages the cafeteria, i.e., what is the real reason behind this decision of employing them as the vendor. This will answer the fundamental question of the origin of nutritious food in the cafeteria and the thought behind this decision when it was made a year ago.

Furthermore, the parent says that the plan is going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. Here we need answer for the question that states how many students are availing cafeteria facilities currently. We also need to see if there is a percent growth in the number of such students or has it remained somewhat stable or has it diminished. We also need to know the causes behind any of the changes in the trends. This will give us an overview of the cafeteria's popularity and how have the tastes of students changed.

In addition, we need to see why the private vendor serves only low-fat, low-calorie meals. Is it a requirement imposed by Kensington Academy or is it a policy of the vendor itself. We also need to have a dietitian on board to suggest the nutritional and taste value of the foods provided in the cafeteria. This will give us a third-party view which is completely unbiased and help develop an understanding of the situation from outside the box.

With respect to the prediction, it seems an extreme indication which is by no means justified or plausible. However, if we can check the types of lunches students bring on their own and study them for any serious health consequences then we can empirically answer the prediction. This will also indicate what is favored by the students and acceptable for the parents at the same time. This study can then be incorporated while deciding for Swift Nutrition.

Therefore, to decide whether the prediction and the argument are reasonable we need to have answers for the questions listed below:

1. What is the general view of students about the food provided at the cafeteria?

2. Why was Swift Nutrition hired last year?

3. What were the reasons behind hiring Swift Nutrition?

4. How many students are availing the cafeteria facilities currently? Is there a growth, drop or no effect on the number of students with respect to previous years? What are the reasons behind these changes?

5. Why does Swift Nutrition serve only low-calorie, low-fat meals?

6. What are the views of a third-person like a dietitian who is beyond the bounds of the Academy on the food being provided at the cafeteria?

7. What are the types of lunches students bring on their own?