Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Since, many people's dreams are inherently selfish, the claim suggests that even though young people are advised to "follow their dreams", greater emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals. I completely agree with the claim since it's not just dreaming that counts. Dreams and goals should be of a salubrious, and worthy nature so that it does not stymie someone else's progress, nor does it turn out to be something that can be categorized as selfish.

Dreams are not just arbitrary figments of our imagination. They are a realization of our wishes, hopes and expectations. When, young people are advised to "follow their dreams", they are asked to work towards making their dream a reality and cherishing success. Nowhere are they encouraged to behave selfishly and leave their munificent outlook. Since, young people are naive, and inexperienced or jejune; any advises given to them should have a positive impact on them as well as the society in general. They should be motivated to follow an honest and altruistic path in achieving their goals so that they do not grow up to be self-centered egoistic humans.

Worthy goals can often mean a goal that benefits an individual, society or brings about a positive change somehow without having a negative impact on anything else. It is also a goal that we are capable of achieving in the long run. Young people have a length of life ahead of them where they will encounter several obstacles and hurdles which will impede or attenuate their swift progress and prove to be trying times. In such testing situations and circumstances, if they are not selfish and rather completely honest in the process of achieving their goal then in the denouement; they'll seem as resplendent as diamonds that are the result of an excruciating process that commences from a lump of dark, Stygian carbon.

Though I completely agree with the claim, I have my doubts when it comes to the reason for the same. Since, some dreams are selfish is not a reason enough to emphasize on picking worthy goals. Undoubtedly, dreams may not be relevant or pertinent for collectively many people but if they are apposite for just one person, they cannot be deemed as selfish and excoriated totally. And the advice of picking worthy goals is an adage. It is independent of any reason and should be imposed as a whole in entirety. Young people should not be taught beneficial things with reasons that are completely random. Rather such apothegms and advice, should be expounded with the possible results of their actions if they take the quixotic path in following their dreams and picking worthy goals. This is because dreams can be centered around oneself and this is no reason to call it inherently selfish.