Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

There are two views in developing a society. The given statement suggests that some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society. I believe both the views are interdependent on one another and cannot exist as a sole idea to be implemented but if it were to chose one then I would chose that teaching morality should be the foundation of education.

Education is a lifelong process however, it is something that starts with young, tractable children and leaves a lasting impression on them, molding their minds and shaping the way they see the world. If moral education and ethics are imparted to them so that they imbibe values in the very beginning of their lives then they would grow up to be responsible humans with a strong understanding of separating the ethical from the unscrupulous.

This is necessary when we see burgeoning rogues and terrorists who have a malevolent or diabolical bent of mind and do not mince in harassing humanity. If quixotic ideas and beliefs that build a sangfroid society and stem the growth of malpractices are introduced early in life then not only are we developing a generation that is logically wise but also not base when it comes to morals.

On the other hand proponents of teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would suggest that the child can lose his learning of morals along the way as he/she grows up and encounters more people with different proclivities and predilections, but logic would be retained throughout due to its regular use in the quotidian world. Undoubtedly, this is not an invalid point however we can say that logic is something that a child can learn at any point in life. The canons of logic are eternal and would never change. However, if the child were to learn about being moral and performing deeds that were beneficial to the society in a later part of his life then he/she would find it a task to absorb the ideas that may or may not seem conflicting to him/her.

Nevertheless, this is a topic of contention but I feel, a balanced approach is the middle way out. Without undermining or superseding either of the ideologies, if we present them collectively as per the commensurate need for children then not only do they learn about morals but at the same time they also recognize the logic behind it that which is imperative. In this way the equanimity between both schools of thought is retained and the shaping of naive mindsets is done in the most cohesive way as possible.