'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager suggests that to attract more viewers to the late-night news program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. To evaluate this argument we need specific evidence to check whether it appropriately handles the situation or not.

Firstly, we need the data which shows the viewership of television station before the changes were introduced in time division for various news categories. This data will reflect viewers' interests in various topics, their interests in the advertisements shown and the topics that were covered in the entire length of the news program. Along with this, we also need data on similar lines which reflects the statistics for the late-night news program after the changes were introduced. Comparing these two will give us an insight on viewers' interests and their general receptiveness to the content shown.

Next, we need to compare the content streamed in both the scenarios. In the current scenario we can check for redundancy of information broadcasted or unnecessary news elements which can be removed or are avoidable to balance the time frames for all sections of the program. This will help us retain the essential content and divide time effectively amongst all the news options available.

Taking into consideration the local businesses that used to advertise during the late-news program we need to check the revenue generated by them for the television station and the effectiveness of those advertisements as a whole. We need to consider the various reasons resulting in the advertisers canceling their contracts. We must take a survey of the viewers, advertisers and other people involved with the late-night news program and analyse these results thoroughly to find the root cause of problems. We can check in various trial runs to impact of different combinations of time frames for each section of the program and then derive the general impact for that particular broadcast.

A detailed comparison should also be made between the late-night program and other programs of the television station. We must check if this conflict of viewer interests is ubiquitous or confined only to the late night-program. At the advertising end we must check for any possible arrangements by which we can increase revenue through advertising contracts as well as ensure that the program content is substantial.

Hence, to conclude the evidences required to evaluate the argument, we can say that a detailed study in this case is unavoidable and needs umpteen number of parameters, scenarios and possibilities to be considered before implementing any change in the structure of the program content. The following points summarize the evidence needed here:

1. Data which shows the viewership of television station before the changes were introduced in time division.

2. Data which reflects the statistics for the late-night news program after the changes were introduced.

3. The revenue generated by advertisements for the television station and the effectiveness of those advertisements as a whole.

4. Survey results of the viewers, advertisers and other people involved with the late-night news program.

5. Results derived from the comparison between the late-night program and other programs of the television station.