The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Environmental protection groups, understandably, are keen on preserving endangered species. They create ecological sanctuaries to protect these living creature that cannot vocally protect themselves. However, at times, these groups provide stances with flawed reasoning, which hurts their goals. Often, they argue that the living creatures of a given sanctuary deserve land set aside because somehow taking part of it would lead to disastrous consequences. In this case, the environmental protection group from Youngtown believes that, by permitting Smith Corporation to take a small percentage of land from the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve, the survival of three hundred bird species would be in jeopardy. They provide a flawed argument because their reasoning is based on assumptions that lack strong evidence and is flat-out incorrect.

The environmental protection group of Youngtown spuriously believe that. because part of the land will be used, all of the land will somehow deteriorate. This is a typical "slippery slope" reason. It is easy to state that the use of one parcel of land will lead to deterioration of the whole land, thus jeopardizing the survival of the birds. If this protection group believes that, they need to prove so. Where is their evidence? Do they have cases in which a corporation used a parcel of land in a sanctuary and the number of species in that land decreased? The environmental protection group weakens their argument by assuming that one action will lead to this dangerous result. If anything, they weaken their credibility by making an assumption without the necessary evidence.

The author also assumes that because there are three hundred bird species living in the area, there is a "magnificent" bird population. True, a large number of bird species residing there tends to indicate that there is a large population of said birds. However, and typically, a large number of bird species indicates simply a large number of endangered species. Endangered bird species often have small populations, not surprisingly so, because only a few of them still remain in existence. Because there are a few birds of each species at the preserve, it is easy for the environmental protection group of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve to find space for those birds so that they are not affected by the hotel. If there were large populations of the birds, then yes, it would seem likely that the hotel may affect their cohabitation; however, because there may just be small populations of each of the species, the hotel is unlike to harm any of them. Additionally, as aforementioned, the environmental protection group can relocate them with ease.

Worst of all, the author fails to realize the relationship between tourism and the bird species. He or she does not understand that an increase in tourism after the construction of a hotel may help their cause. The author assumes that tourists visit primarily to visit birds. How do we know that tourists are visiting for that reason? What if they are visiting for other reasons? Would they be more enticed to visit if a small hotel were located there? Coming from a narrow perspective, the environmental protection group is likely to state that tourists want to see the birds--because members of the environmental protection group want to see the birds. However, it is likely that the tourists may go because the weather is warm and ideal for hiking. Or perhaps, tourists go because there are great trails for biking. These two reasons allow for ideal economic development, which, ironically, can give the Youngtown government the funding to create more land for the survival of the three hundred bird species. Instead of assuming that tourists want to see the birds, the environmental protection group needs to see the situation from an alternative point of view, one that may actually help them.

The environmental protection group of Youngtown has good intentions: They want to protect the birds that live in the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. They are afraid that land change may hurt the birds' likelihood for survival. Those birds may have lived there for hundreds of thousands of year. They may additionally provide ecological benefit to the citizens of Youngtown, though the citizens of Youngtown may not realize it. However, if they want to see the preservation of the sanctuary--and the birds--they need to take alternative points of view to realize they can do much more benefit by permitting the Smith Corporation to develop the land. For all they know, it may cause the birds to breed larger numbers of species and further develop the preserve.