The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The argument stated above is a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities, accusing the recently contracted Fly-away Pest company for its negligience to control pests in Palm city comparing the dollar worth of food damaged by pests in Palm City and Wintervale, stating that Buzzof Pest control company which provided pest control services in Palm city before contract with the Fly-Away Pest control Company, Buzzoof Pest control company has 10000 dollar pest damaged food but the Fly-Away Pest control Company has 20000 dollar worth pest damaged food . The argument is flawed in numerous ways.

First of all, the Vice president does not take into account the warehouse sizes and food storing quantity of both of the warehouses. If the Palm City warehouse has comparatively very large warehouse with high storage of food materials, obviously the damage is also going to be high. If the warehouse at Wintervale is very limited with small food storages, then, the damage is going to be relatively less. So, in either case, the Vice president does not provide any information regarding the warehouse size and storage quantity and hence it cannot be trusted.

Secondly, the location of the warehouses is not mentioned. If the Palm city warehouse is located near a dense forest area, the amount of pests will be high, so is the damage rate. Similarly, if the Wintervale warehouse is located in city area, obviously, the rate of pests and hence the damage rate will be lesser. If both cases were true, the argument doesn’t hold water.

Moreover, there is no information regarding the quality of the food procured. For example, the materials procured in the prescribed month may have defects with more pests in them. If that is true, the argument falls apart.

In conclusion, the Vice President has to provide more evidence for the flaws mentioned above. Only in that case, it is possible for the argument to be true.