Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

In today’s world, most of the people accept what is being practiced by the majority without analyzing on their own its effects. People should think whether what they are being taught is relaiable and holds water. The issue stated is that students should always question what they are taught instead accepting it passively. In my opinion, I think this has to be the mindset for all the students all over the world. I would like to reason in the following paragraphs.

First of all, questioning open gates to search for answers that may be even non-conventional. Students who constantly question would be able to get more ideas and answers to their questions which, as a learner, helps them to look beyond what is being said. For example, if a student questions his or her teacher or parents about the science heind rocket science rather than accepting passively, he would be able to get more ideas from not only one source but also many sources that would contain ideas not told. This illustrates how even non-conventional ideas could emerge by asking questions.

Secondly, students get a strong hand on their ability to analyze the pre-conceived facts that are being widely accepted even though it may contain flaws.This helps to improve the analytical thinking ability of the students. He / She may be able to differences between what is right and what is wrong even though covered with subtlety. This, as a whole would improve the personality traits and in some cases such as Periyar, a liberal in India, who tried tom abolish caste differences even though it is accepted in the majority of the society.

In addition, it would make the student more intelligent and active. He/ She may be able to discover a new rocket science theory or able to nullify the social immoralities in his life. For example, math scientist, Ramanujam, who questions more and search more for answers.

But many people would argue that what is being taught are from the experiences of the superiors and no need of questioning. But this is not true in all the cases. Only by questioning a person could able to discover new things that are not really told.