The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in a

The author asserts that the Super Screen Movie Production Company should increase the budget for advertisement in the next year to attract more audience. However, this is not necessarily true as the argument is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the fewer viewers in the past year is due to the public's lack of awareness about the movie. However, it might not be true. It is likely that there were not many movies released in the past year that there were less viewers in total. Therefore, the author should substantiate the information about the number of released movies in the past years.

Second, even if there were enough number of movies released during the past year, the author's presumption that the positive review are not well known among the public can be wrong. It is possible that the lack of viewers was due to other reasons. For instance, a number of theaters of the company were closed in the past year. Also, it can be that the schedule of movies were arranged mostly during the week days or night times in the past year that people rather gave up going to the theater. Therefore, the author should consider the alternative issues for the decrease of the audience.

Lastly, considering that the public awareness was the direct reason for less audience, the author's assumption that the budget increase will ensure the enhanced public awareness is not necessarily true. It is likely that the company already spend big percentage of its budget in the advertisement. If so, their failure in advertisement can be due to their lack of advertisement skills. If so, it is uncertain whether the mere increase of budget will improve the effect of advertisement of the company. Thus, the author should provide information about the current budget they spend on the advertisement to support or damage the argument.

To sum up, the author's argument that the company should increase the budget for advertisement is unpersuasive as it needs further evidence such as the number of movie released in the past years, the alternative issues for the decreased viewers, and the current budget spent for the advertisement.