When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity:

The author recommends that Stanley Park should change its open space into bench areas since the Stanley Park has become less popular due to lack of socializing places. However, it might not necessarily true since it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that lesser people visit Stanley park based on the reduction of the cars in its parking lot. However, the author should check if the reduction in its popularity is true in the first place. It is likely that the subway or bus stop has newly built near the park that people began to use them instead of driving their own cars. If so, the number of people visiting Stanley Park might not have decreased as the arguer asserts. Therefore, the author should substantiate his/her argument by considering alternative transportations to the park.

Second, the author presumes that the reason for the popularity of Carlton Park is its ample sittings. However, it is an unwarranted assumption. There might be other reasons for many people to visit the park. For instance, the Carlton Park is located in the hub of the business district, so that there are many workers coming to the area. Seeing the statistics of 150 people were conducted during the weekday, it is more likely that most of the people using the park are employees of the companies. If so, the conversion of open spaces into benches would not bring an increase in the popularity of Stanley Park. Therefore, the author should provide information related to the population using Carlton Park during the weekend as well to corroborate his/her argument.

Lastly, the author supposes that converting the unused open area into socializing area would make the Stanley Park recover its popularity. However, even if the number of benches was the reason for its popularity in Carlton Park, it is uncertain whether it applies the same to the Stanley Park. It is possible that there is no demand for more benches in the Stanley Park. Most of the people using the Stanley Park might prefer to do exercises such as badminton or skating instead of socializing. If so, the conversion of open space into benches might reduce its popularity more. Thus, the author should conduct research on the most popular activities in the Stanley Park to bring the expected result.

To sum up, the argument is based on several assumptions that the author needs to provide alternative transportation means to the Stanley Park, the number of people using Carlton Park during the weekend, and the preference among the visitors to Stanley Park.