Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The role of experts is to provide a well-evidence suggestion to tackle a certain problem. As experts are those who have built up one's knowledge through many years of learning and experiences, many people ask for help and trust the decisions made by them. However, it is not true that the judgment of work by a layperson is of no value. Rather, this might provide a valuable perspective to solve those issues.

Admittedly, solving a problem requires enough knowledge and expertise which experts have obtained for many years. For instance, during the economic depression, non-specialists do not know how to tackle the depression since they do not know how the economic factors influence the economy. However, the economists can provide appropriate and trustful suggestions to the governments that they could cope with the situation as soon as possible. Likewise, the knowledge and experience in the certain field are necessary to make a critical judgment.

However, the judgments by layperson are of great values when the information of the experts can be limited. For instance, in the indigenous societies, there are much traditional knowledge and skills that people have not discovered yet. Indigenous people in small islands or remote areas do have valuable knowledge about the medical efficacies of plants or flowers. Thus, when treating an indigenous disease that cannot be treated with professional solutions, the judgment by those people who are not experts will be important and precious. Therefore, the critical judgment of indigenous people might solve the disease that could not be solved by experts.

Moreover, in the official development assistance(ODA) field, the judgments and opinions of local people have proven to be critical for the success of the development project. For instance, the development organization such as World Bank made a well for a village in an African country, but the well was built in so much distant place from the walking trails that local people found it hard to walk a long distance to get water from the well. As a result, the project could not increase the level of water distribution among local people. If the project authority had involved the community people during the planning stage, they could have seen a different result. Thus, listening to the judgment of local people can result in a more successful result in projects.

To sum up, experts can play important roles in tackling the issues, but they are not God. Their knowledge might be limited and traditional and local people's judgment can become important to tackle problems and improve the situations.