The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducatio

The president of Grove College suggests that the college relinquish its century-old tradition of all-female education and accept male students as well. The director of the alumnae opposes this plan providing two surveys about the student's opinion of its all-female tradition. To decide whether the suggestion would work or not, there are three questions need to be answered first.

First, the president takes the example of other all-female colleges which were successful at significantly increasing the number of the admissions. However, the question is if the change to coeducation might not bring the same consequence for the Grove College. It is likely that unlike the other regions of once all-female colleges, the region where the Grove College is located has many colleges comparable to Grove College that even though it starts to admit the male students, there might not be a significant increase in the applications. Or the region has a very conservative culture which prefers single-sex colleges. When there is no similarity between other all-female colleges and Grove Collge, the comparison might become a hasty generalization. Thus, the author should provide the similar characteristics between Grove College and other all-female colleges.

The second important question is whether the survey of incoming students is providing meaningful information. The director assumes that applicants will not choose Grove College when it moves to coeducation. However, it might not necessarily true. It is unknown when the survey was conducted. If the annual surveys were from decades ago, it might not represent the current upcoming students. Therefore, the author should provide information related to the year of the survey on upcoming students.

The third question is whether the survey was valid enough to correctly represent the opinions of students. It is possible that the survey question was biased or misleading. For instance, if the survey asked how they would feel about not being accepted due to the admission of male students, they are highly likely to respond in a negative way. Therefore, to strengthen its argument, the director of the alumnae should consider whether the survey was conducted in an unbiased way.

To sum up, those aforementioned questions need to be answered prior to the decision of moving to the coeducation system. If not, the decision whether to change or not to change, might bring the unexpected harms to Grove College.