In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

The author suggests that the Prunty County should improve the road condition since Butler Country was successful at lowering the accident by 25 percent after the improvement project. However, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes the highway safety was not improved considering the unchanged number of accidents. However, the same number of accidents does not mean that the same fatality from the accidents. It is likely that the accidents after the lowered speed limit policy might have been less serious than those during the 55-speed limit. Therefore, the author should provide the information comparing the level of casualties and harms caused by the accidents before and after the stringent speed limit policy.

Second, the author presumes that people still drive in the illegal speed and the new limitation is not effective at regulation. Nevertheless, people might have driven at a lower speed than before. For instance, drivers who caught by the camera might have been driving at 50 miles per hour. If so, even though the drivers caught by exceeding the speed limit still exist, but the overall speed they are driving at might have decreased. Thus, the overall highway safety might have been improved thanks to the speed limit. Thus, to strengthen the argument, the author should provide information related to the speed ranges of drivers who were caught before and after the policy.

Last, the author supposes that the road improvement project will necessarily improve the highway safety of Prunty County. However, even though it was successful in the Butler County, it does not guarantee that it would bring the same level of success to Prunty County. Perhaps, the conditions of highways in the county are already good that the improvement project might be unnecessary. If so, the improvement project might use up the budget without any positive influence on the highway safety. Therefore, the author should consider if the highway project will bring the same result for the Prunty county.

To sum up, the author needs to provide information related to the differences in the level of harms, speeds before and after the policy, and the necessity of the road improvement project to substantiate its argument.