Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author asserts that the virtual elimination of imported western gazelle is caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve than in western preserve. Though the author mentions that there is a difference in the amount of rainfall between western preserve and eastern preserve, he or she does not consider the fact as a main cause of this phenomenon. However, the claim is unpersuasive to me since it relies on multiple weak assumptions that are defective in a logical aspect.

First, the author hastily assumes that the slight reduction of rainfall in the eastern preserve cannot be the cause of elimination. However, the author overlooks the potential that the slight difference has on ecology and fails to provide clear evidence why the reduction of rainfall is irrelevant to the disappearance of western gazelles. It is possible that the less amount of rain caused lack of foods for the gazelles. Furthermore, the imported gazelles could have competed against eastern gazelles for the limited amount of foods. To bolster the claim, the author must provide data that the slight reduction of rainfall did not impact the amount of food that the western gazelles needed.

Second, the author fails to provide information about the predators in the eastern preserve. As it stands, we do not have any information about what predators live in western and easter preserves. Furthermore, the fact there are more predators in the eastern preserve than western preserve necessarily proves that the cause of elimination is due to predators. It is possible that there are more places to hide from the predators in the eastern preserve or the predators in the eastern preserve could not efficiently hunt western gazeels because the predators are not used to western gazelle’s behaviors, which are new to the predators. Thus, the author must provide further information about the predators and data that they can efficiently hunt western gazelles in the eastern preserve.

Third, the author overlooks the fact that there could be more factors that could have contributed to the elimination of the gazelles, other than the existence of predators. Admittedly, presence of predators can be a factor but can only be a piece of puzzles.Though the author mentioned about the difference in climate, we have no information about what geographical traits the eastern preserve has. If the eastern preserve had less water ponds or have plants that are toxic to western gazelles, those could have contributed to the sudden reduction of western gazelles. To better assess the argument, we must hear about geographical traits of western and eastern preserves and compare what factors had effects on survival of western gazelles.

To conclude, the argument is still unjustified due to poor assumptions and lack of adequate evidences. The author must provide more information about the predators, how the rainfall does not impact the ecology of western gazelles and geographical characteristics of both western and eastern preserves. Without the additional information indicated above, the argument is still vulnerable to criticism.