The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievement of its rulers, artists or scientists. Reason: The surest indicator is actually the welfare of all its people.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the indicator of a great nation is the achievements of elites or the welfare for all people. Surely, the achievements of great artists, scientists, and rulers bring the whole nation some chance to take a big step to the next level. However, the existence of general welfare of a nation is essential to grow the scientists, artists, and rulers. Thus, I generally agree with the statement that the welfare indicates how great the nation is and would argue that the achievements cannot be brought without adequate welfares

Admittedly, excellent achievements bring possibilities to open a new paradigm. For example, consider Plato’s “Republic” and several “How-to” books in the bookstore. While Plato’s “Republic,” which is a great achievement, is being read even after thousands of years and has influenced ancient societies to establish democracy. On the other hand, several “How-to” books, which are not necessarily the greatest achievements, do not necessarily pave a new ground to criticize, argue, or develop new ideas. There is no trivializing that great works and achievements bring fortunes and positive changes to the nation. If a nation has more elites like Plato, it will have more chances to break a new ground, which will lead the nation to be great.

However, we must have a stable welfare for all people to even start making great achievements. Jack Andraka’s career demonstrates the importance of general welfare for all. Jack Andraka is an American teenager who developed a diagnostic tool for pancreatic cancer. When he got an idea, he used internet to research and develop his protocol. Then, he used his high school laboratory to produce a prototype of the device. His achievement was only possible at the age of 17 because Andraka had internet, which is readily available in the United States, and relatively safe high school laboratory with adequate kits. His success implies that general welfare for all, not only for elites, allows anyone with talents and passion to pursue his or her dream to make great achievements.

Furthermore, a nation can never be great if it lacks general welfare that guarantees safety for its people. Take Mali as an example during the Ebola outbreak in 2014. When the index case of Ebola was identified in Mali, there was only one hospital in Mali. Indeed, the only working hospital had floods and inadequate medical supplies due to constant civil wars. As a result, the government could not efficiently isolate the index case and its possible contacts and deaths due to Ebola exponentially grew in Mali. This example illustrates how maintenance of general welfare is significant in protecting people. If the nation cannot protect its people, it is far from being great.

In conclusion, I admit that excellent achievements surely brings fortunes to a nation to be great. However, having a general welfare for all is more important to make a great nation because it allows its people to safely challenge themselves to make great achievements.